In Hot Water

It’s 9:30pm – almost 24 hours since I crushed my last bottle of wine and had the last sip. Tonight was not easy, especially between 5-8pm when the kiddos were all home and wound up. At one point, every one of them was whining or crying simultaneously. That’s when I normally reach for the glass. But tonight, instead, I reached out for help. My husband was home from work early enough, and he had no problem pitching in to give me a break. He took over homework and bath duty, and entertained them long enough for me to take a hot bubble bath and start a new book called I Thought it Was Just Me (But It Isn’t): Making the Journey from ‘What Will People Think?’ to ‘I Am Enough.’ It’s about addressing women’s hidden shame and the never-ending quest for perfection. It wasn’t what I was looking for at the bookstore, but it’s what I wound up leaving with since it really caught my attention. I’ve got a stack of self-help books to work through. Baby steps.

The bath water I drew was hot – way too hot! I had to inch my way in ever so slowly to adjust to the hot-tub-like temperature. It stung a little. I finally managed to get mostly-in, then took in a deep breath and held it before allowing myself to fully sink myself in and exhhhale. I did it! And it was worth it now that I was in a comfortable, quiet place and could take a few minutes to relax and read.

I imagine this is much like ‘recovery.’ It’s a struggle to get into and even hurts at first. Sometimes it’ll sting pretty badly. But in the end, it’s worth it (I hope). I quoted ‘recovery’ this way because I’m not even sure what this process is for me yet. I don’t feel like I am, or should be, someone who requires recovery, or may actually be ‘in it’. I feel like a normal, intelligent, competent, (mostly-) functioning adult who slips up now and then (or should I say, “sips up?”). I think I would prefer to think of this as my learning and healing journey, since it’s so much more than simply not having a drink.

So, now that it’s been just about 24 hours, does this mean I’ve almost completed Day 1 (again)? Cheers for getting myself into the right kind of hot water tonight (the bubble bath!) instead of the wrong kind of trouble.

Tonight, I’m praying for strength and clarity (and a good night’s sleep).  And I’m so grateful for my beautiful babies who have blessed me beyond measure.  They deserve the best of me, come hell or hot water!

So, what do you think?

